The Broke Man’s T-Bone Steak

Difficulty: easy

There are a hundred ways to make a steak, but the best ones are always the simplest. It gives more attention to the meat. I was at a wholesale meat store and saw an amazing T-bone steak for just $7. Now I know $7 is a lot for just one steak, but there are hardly any other ingredients in it so it’s all good. The cashier gave me a funny look since I just bought one small thing from a wholesale butcher, but it’s not like I had any dignity to lose. This also reminds me of my first dining table when I moved into my own place – a newspaper on the floor. I know many of you can relate.

Ingredients:

1 T-bone steak, about 453 grams (1 lbs) and 2.54 cm (1 inch) thick

0.5 tsp salt

0.5 tsp fresh cracked peppercorn (regular pepper is also fine)

2 tbsp butter

2 cloves garlic crushed

3 sprigs thyme (optional)

Directions:

Pat the steak dry and apply the salt and pepper. Heat the butter on a skillet and add the garlic and thyme. Stir for a couple minutes until you can smell the aroma of the garlic and then remove the thyme. When the pan is sizzling hot, add the steak and sear for about 3 minutes the first side and then 2.5 minutes the other side, keep spooning the garlic butter on top. This makes a for a medium rare steak. Now turn off the heat, put the steak on a wooden cutting board and cover with tin foil for 5 – 10 minutes. This allows for the juices to run so you don’t have a watery steak when you cut it.

It is best to serve it with mushrooms which you can saute on the steak juices and a baked potato. I didn’t have any sour cream to put on the baked potato so I just used some sweet relish that I had lying around. Not a good choice but it’s not like I can do better.

2015-07-30-18-19-45

Leave a Reply

